The Maroon

Opinion: We must rally behind the Wolf Pack

Head+coach%2C+Stacy+Hollowell%2C+talks+strategy+to+Loyola%27s+Men%27s+Basketball+team+during+the+Jan.+20%2C+2018%2C+game+against+Faulkner+University.+Loyola+won+the+game+by+12+points.+JULIA+SANTOS%2FThe+Maroon.
Back to Article
Back to Article

Opinion: We must rally behind the Wolf Pack

Head coach, Stacy Hollowell, talks strategy to Loyola's Men's Basketball team during the Jan. 20, 2018, game against Faulkner University. Loyola won the game by 12 points. JULIA SANTOS/The Maroon.

Head coach, Stacy Hollowell, talks strategy to Loyola's Men's Basketball team during the Jan. 20, 2018, game against Faulkner University. Loyola won the game by 12 points. JULIA SANTOS/The Maroon.

Julia Santos

Head coach, Stacy Hollowell, talks strategy to Loyola's Men's Basketball team during the Jan. 20, 2018, game against Faulkner University. Loyola won the game by 12 points. JULIA SANTOS/The Maroon.

Julia Santos

Julia Santos

Head coach, Stacy Hollowell, talks strategy to Loyola's Men's Basketball team during the Jan. 20, 2018, game against Faulkner University. Loyola won the game by 12 points. JULIA SANTOS/The Maroon.

Andres Fuentes

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






The rings are out, the banners are hanging and the buzz in the air for Loyola athletics. Haven’t you noticed?

The women’s basketball team won another championship banner. Leah Banks keeps breaking more track records. Both swim teams seemed to be unstoppable in the water this season and the dance team performed on the national stage in their short two years of existence.

Yet the bleachers are never filled.

No one goes out to tennis and baseball matches, and the track and cross country teams do not receive enough praise. Why do we not embrace the top National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics Louisiana athletic program? I understand that the matches and games are not always hosted on campus. I get that people don’t want to cross over the Mississippi River, city lines or even hop over to a nearby state to see their friends compete. But our basketball and baseball games are always live streamed—loyolawolfpack.com gives constant score updates and recaps.

And most of all, we share hallways, classrooms and an entire campus with conference champions, players of the week and national talent. We may not have a big athletic budget or the fanciest buildings and equipment, but we have the benefit of a small campus. Our community is close together. We are jammed pack right in the heart of Uptown New Orleans. Why can’t we have more praise for the Pack?

I know it won’t be something instant. I know it takes time to embrace new things and start new traditions. But just like it took many decades for our sports program to grow and to succeed, so should we, as their fan base. They represent our school just as much as we do, wearing our school name across their chests and maroon and gold in their uniforms. In all, we have 18 sports with over 200 athletes. If we cannot see them in action, let’s high-five them in the hallways, praise them for their work after class and embrace them all like the Wolf Pack we are.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About the Contributors
Andres Fuentes, Sports Editor

Andres is going onto his third year with The Maroon, and has previously served as Sports Editor, Sports Assistant and Distribution Manager. He hopes that...

4 Comments

4 Responses to “Opinion: We must rally behind the Wolf Pack”

  1. Jeff williams on April 17th, 2018 1:55 pm

    This is a great article and couldn’t agree more. I graduated from Loyola in ’91. I live in Utah now. I miss the place and follow the teams online and have watched basketball games online. Loyola has great athletes. Support the teams. Build a new tradition. Get the frats and sororities involved and get people out. It’s worth it.

  2. Andres on April 17th, 2018 10:40 pm

    Hopefully we start something!

  3. Terrance Favaroth on April 17th, 2018 3:14 pm

    I graduated in 2003 and I’m proud to be a part of the pack! During my years at LU there were no athletic scholarship and we had homecoming where a Ms Loyola was selected. With that said, Loyola should start having homecoming again for all of the alumni. This event could be centered around one of the basketball games and will potentially contribute to increasing school spirit.

  4. Andres on April 17th, 2018 10:40 pm

    This is such a good idea

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.




Navigate Left
  • Opinion: We must rally behind the Wolf Pack

    Op/Ed

    Opinion: I am proud to be the daughter of immigrants

  • Opinion: We must rally behind the Wolf Pack

    Op/Ed

    Opinion: This is where I think the campus stands

  • Opinion: We must rally behind the Wolf Pack

    Op/Ed

    For the greatest Loyola

  • Opinion: We must rally behind the Wolf Pack

    Editorial

    Editorial: Loyola must stick together

  • Opinion: We must rally behind the Wolf Pack

    Op/Ed

    Opinion: Self-Conscious: What it means and feelings associated

  • Opinion: We must rally behind the Wolf Pack

    Op/Ed

    Opinion: There is a side of the opioid epidemic most people don’t see

  • Opinion: We must rally behind the Wolf Pack

    Editorial

    Editorial: Focus your energy on energy-inefficient companies

  • Opinion: We must rally behind the Wolf Pack

    Op/Ed

    Opinion: The Maroon has been changing lives since 1923

  • Opinion: We must rally behind the Wolf Pack

    Op/Ed

    Opinion: The Maroon serves the people

  • Opinion: We must rally behind the Wolf Pack

    Editorial

    Editorial: Celebrate 95 years with us

Navigate Right
Since 1923 • For a greater Loyola
Opinion: We must rally behind the Wolf Pack